AFF Suzuki Cup: Singapore Announce Final 28-Strong Squad

11 tournament debutants in Tatsuma Yoshida's youthful looking Singapore side

Image via AFF Suzuki Cup

28 November 2021, Singapore - Singapore football Head Coach Tatsuma Yoshida has named a 28-strong squad, his final selection, that will compete in next month's ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) Suzuki Cup.

Four-time winners Singapore, who kick-off their AFF Suzuki Cup campaign against Myanmar on Sunday, 5 December at the National Stadium, will be looking to add a fifth AFF Suzuki Cup trophy to their cabinet having previously won it in 1998, 2004, 2007 and 2012.

They have however, failed to make it into the last four since the last time they won the competition.

Image via AFF Suzuki Cup

Of the 28 players selected in Singapore's AFF Suzuki Cup squad, 11 will be making their competition debuts.

Namely Zharfan Rohaizad, Nur Adam Abdullah, Iqram Rifqi, Tajeli Salamat, Saifullah Akbar, Hami Syahin, Song Ui-young, Amy Recha, Hafiz Nor, Shawal Anuar and Ilhan Fandi.

Singapore have been drawn in Group A and will have to navigate Myanmar, the Philippines, Timor Leste, as well as five-time champions Thailand for a place in the semi-finals of the competition.

Image via AFF Suzuki Cup

This year's edition of the AFF Suzuki Cup is the first time the tournament has been held in a single country, largely owing to COVID-19 and considerations on control measures as well as fan safety.

Final Squad for Singapore


Hassan Sunny (Lion City Sailors), Izwan Mahbud (Hougang United), Syazwan Buhari (Tampines Rovers), Zharfan Rohaizad ( Tanjong Pagar United)


Amirul Adli (Lion City Sailors), Nur Adam Abdullah (Lion City Sailors), Tajeli Salamat (Lion City Sailors), Iqram Rifqi (Geylang International), Irfan Fandi (BG Pathum United), Nazrul Nazari (Hougang United) , Safuwan Baharudin ( Selangor FC), Shakir Hamzah (Tanjong Pagar), Zulqarnaen Suzliman (Young Lions)


Adam Swandi (Lion City Sailors), Hariss Harun (Lion City Sailors), Saifullah Akbar (Lion City Sailors), Shahdan Sulaiman (Lion City Sailors), Song Uiyoung (Lion City Sailors), M. Anumanthan (Kedah FC), Hami Syahin (Young Lions), Zulfahmi Arifin (Sukhothai FC)


Faris Ramli (Lion City Sailors), Hafiz Nor (Lion City Sailors), Gabriel Quak (Lion City Sailors), Amy Recha (Geylang International), Shawal Anuar (Hougang United), Ilhan Fandi (Young Lions), Ikhsan Fandi (FK Jerv)

#SportPlusSG #Football #SingaporeFootball #AFFSuzukiCup #SuzukiCup2020